It is mandated by law that all automobile owners in the state of Georgia have a Georgia auto insurance policy. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Georgia has an extensive database of drivers whose registration has expired or drivers who have no insurance. Although an insurance card is still required in case of a collision or accident, it is not considered solid proof of valid insurance. In Georgia, you need a minimum liability limit of:
* $25,000 per person body injury
* $50,000 per occurrence and $25,000 property damage per occurrence
In the Georgian tort system, one party must be found at fault in the event of an accident. The party at fault will compensate for the damages through their insurance policy. Collision insurance is mandated by most leasing and lending companies.
Georgia Auto Insurance – Recommendations
It is recommended that all drivers carry more than the minimum required amount of insurance. It is also recommended, not required, that all drivers possess a comprehensive collision insurance. While a liability policy will compensate for the repairs to other motorists’ vehicles in the event of an accident, the perpetrator is usually subject to payment for the damages. The insurance generally pays for the damage.
Along with an insurance policy, it is recommended that all drivers carry an un-insured policy, which will provide coverage in the event of either a hit and run or an accident with a driver who either does not have full insurance or the minimum required insurance. Without this, insurance drivers are often forced to bear the burnt of the expenses.
The premium charged on an insurance policy depends on one’s driving record, age, type of car, etc. With so many factors to consider, it is important you compare quotes online. With only about 3 weeks to obtain insurance for new car owners, it is obvious that you must act fast in order to receive the most coverage at an affordable rate. Thankfully, residents of Georgia and others can visit and compare quotes online and make an informed decision.